Upper Wisconsin Basin

Upper Wisconsin
The Upper Wisconsin basin is located in north-central Wisconsin. It includes Florence, Vilas, Oneida, Lincoln, and Langlade counties. This basin contains 34% of the state’s total lakes, and 22% of lake acreage. Some of the watersheds included in this basin include the Tomahawk, Eagle, Tamarack, Prairie, and Pelican Rivers. Many of the streams and lakes are classified as having Exceptional Resource Waters (ERW) which means the water quality is excellent. For more information on this basin, go to the DNR website at http://dnr.wi.gov/water/basin/upwis/.

Visit these sites to learn more about how you can get involved and Protect the Upper Wisconsin Basin with these partner organizations:

Northeast Wisconsin Stormwater Consortium