Milwaukee Basin

The Milwaukee basin is located in southeast Wisconsin and consists of seven counties: Ozaukee, Milwaukee, Washington, Sheboygan, Dodge, Waukesha and Fond du Lac. This basin is home to 1.3 million people with the southern quarter of the basin being the most densely populated in the state. A few of the watersheds included in this basin are the Milwaukee River, Cedar Creek, Menomonee River, and Kinnickinnic River. This basin faces the challenge of balancing the use of land and water. For more information about the Milwaukee Basin, visit the DNR website at

Visit this site to learn more about how you can get involved and Protect the Milwaukee River Basin with these partner organizations:

Milwaukee Riverkeeper