Lower Wisconsin Basin

Lower Wisconsin
The Lower Wisconsin basin is located in south-central and southwestern Wisconsin. The Lower Wisconsin River Basin includes the counties of Adams, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Grant, Iowa, Jackson, Juneau, Monroe, Richland, Sauk, and Vernon. Some of the bodies of water included in this basin are the Baraboo, Pine, Lemonweir, and Kickapoo Rivers. There are more than 3,800 miles of streams in this basin. These 3,800 miles are frequented by fisherman, half by those seeking cold waters for trout and sport fishery, and the other half seeking warm water fishing areas. It is very important to not only keep the trout in mind. There are also unique and rare species of birds, butterflies, mammals, and 42 different kinds of plants that call this basin a home. The primary problems associated with this basin are caused by non-point source pollution. The ditching and draining of the marsh areas create mud or muck farms that have a powerful impression on the streams, rivers, and quality of water. If these are watched by the surrounding communities they can help to support Wisconsin waterways.

For more information about the Lower Wisconsin Basin, go to the DNR website at http://dnr.wi.gov/water/basin/lowerwis/.

Visit these sites to learn more about how you can get involved and Protect the Central Wisconsin Basin with these partner organizations:

Northcentral Wisconsin Stormwater Coalition

Columbia County

Monroe County

Sauk County